BMW Asian Open Winners

BMW Asian Open winners claim a substantial prize, which in 2007 totalled roughly €1.7. Despite being a very recent addition to the European Tour, the impressive purse offered at the BMW Asian Open has attracted a host of world golfing champions, several of whom have gone on to claim the title.

BMW Asian Open Winners up to 2004

The inaugural BMW Asian Open in 2002 was won by Jarmo Sandelin, who was born in Finland, but subsequently adopted Swedish citizenship. He boasts five European Tour titles in total, as well as two runner-up finishes in 2006. Sandelin earned Ryder Cup honours in 1999.

Following his BMW Asian Open triumph, Sandelin lost his card in 2005. In the last couple of years he has returned to form, regaining his card by claiming tenth place at the 2005 Qualifying School. He is showing a more focused approach after teaming up with Ernie Els’ former coach, Robert Baker.

Padraig Harrington was the 2003 BMW Asian Open winner. The European Tour Order of Merit winner in 2006, the Irishman also finished in second position in 2001 and 2002. Harrington became the first European Major champion in eight years at the 136th Open Championship at Carnoustie in 2007.

BMW Asian Open Winners in China, from 2004

In 2004, the BMW Asian Open moved to mainland China and Spain’s Miguel Angel Jimanez became the third BMW Asian Open winner. Europe’s most prolific winner in 2004, he claimed four titles during a stunning season where he finished fourth on The European Tour Order of Merit. Jimanez won another two titles in 2005 and has twice featured in Europe’s Ryder Cup team, in 1999 and 2004.

Ernie Els became the first non-European on the list of BMW Asian Open winners in 2005. The South African boasts over 50 victories worldwide, including three Major Championship titles. He won the European Tour Order of Merit in 2003 and 2004. Els was unanimously accorded Honorary Life Membership of The European Tour in 1999 in recognition of his US Open Golf Championship wins and his unprecedented three successive World Match Play Championship wins (1994 to 1996), a feat he repeated from 2002 to 2004.

Gonzalo Fernandez-Castaño was the second of the two Spanish BMW Asian Open winners, claiming the 2006 tournament following a playoff with Henrik Stenson. He also won the 2007 Telecom Italia Open via a playoff. In 2005, Fernandez-Castaño clinched the Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year Award.

The list of BMW Asian Open winners is completed by Frenchman Raphael Jaquelin, who led the 2007 field from start to finish. This followed up his maiden European Tour success at the Open de Madrid in 2005, on his 238th European Tour start.